Type to search

Guyana Cabinet sworn in

Tags: ,

Guyana Cabinet sworn in


GEORGETOWN – The remaining members of President Dr Irfaan Ali’s new “results oriented” Cabinet were sworn into office on Wednesday and he promised his administration would be transparent in dealing with the affairs of Guyana.

“I expect that this team will be results oriented, will work in an efficient and transparent manner. The multi-faceted nature of the skills set that comprise the team is what I believe Guyana requires in ensuring we fulfil the aspirations of all the people of this country,” he said after officiating at the swearing in ceremony.

Ali reminded the new ministers that their jobs would require sacrifices “because this job is not an eight to four job, but I am sure we are all committed to this task in giving our bit in the interest of our country and for the betterment of the Guyanese people”.

Ali, 40, who himself was sworn into office last Sunday hours after the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) named him the winner of the March 2 presidential poll, said he has realigned “functions of the government to remove duplicity, to make it easier to conduct business with government, to reduce bureaucracy, to improve efficiency and to ensure that we operate in a cost effective, productive and results oriented manner”.

Ali had earlier named former president, Bharrat Jagdeo the Vice President, Prime Minister Mark Phillips, Gail Teixeria as the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Anil Nandlall, as the Attorney General.

Among those named to the Cabinet on Wednesday are Robeson Benn, the Minister of Public Security, who had served as the minister of public works in a former People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) administration, Pauline Sukhai who is the Minister of Amerindian Affairs, a portfolio she held in the last PPP/C administration and Priya Manickchand, who returns as the Minister of Education.

Ali said that the team “also provides newness , youthful energy, experience, freshness and of course skillset that are of immediate importance as we tackle important issues of constitutional reform, electoral reform and other aspects of governance including reform of the security sector, managing of natural resources ….and reaching out to every segment of the Guyanese population”.

Ali promised that other members of the tam will be announced “shortly, but we have to move swiftly” reiterating the need for an “inclusive form of governance that will support the Executive”.

The following is the list of the new Cabinet

  1. Zulfikar Mustapha, Minister of Agriculture
  2. Pauline Sukhai, Minister of Amerindian Affairs
  3. Charles Ramson, Minister of Culture, Youth and Sport
  4. Priya Manickchamd, Minister of Education
  5. Hugh Todd, Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation
  1. Dr Frank Anthony, Minister of Health
  2. Robeson Benn, Minister of Home Affairs
  3. Colin Croal, Minister of Housing and Water
  4. Susan Rodrigues, Junior Minister of Housing and Water
  5. Dr Vindhya Persaud, Minister of Human Services and Social Security
  6. Joseph Hamilton, Minister of Labour
  7. Nigel Dharamlall, Minister of Local Government and Regional Development
  8. Anand Persaud, Junior Minister of Local Government and Regional Development
  9. Vickram Bharrat, Minister of Natural Resources
  10. Kwame Mc Coy, Minister within the Office of the Prime Minister
  11. Sonya Parag, Minister of Public Service
  12. Juan Edghill, Minister of Public Works
  13. Deodat Indar, Junior Minister of Public Works
  14. Oneidge Waldron, Minister of Tourism, Industry and Commerce (CMC)

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment